Spicy Turkey Meatloaf

Recently I placed my first order for grass-fed meats from US Wellness Meats.

In addition to the ground beef, chicken thighs (not pictured), chicken sausage, and grass-fed butter that I ordered, I also ordered a 1 lb of ground turkey, not really knowing what I intended to make with it but wanting to have a variety of choices.

This past week I tripped across this recipe and decided it would be a great way to use the turkey. I made a few modifications but the overall inspiration remains the same – quick, easy paleo meatloaf.

Ingredients

  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • 1 sweet onion
  • 1 carrot
  • 1 yellow bell pepper
  • 1/2 red bell pepper
  • 1 egg*
  • 1 heaping tbsp of chili garlic paste
  • 1 cup crushed pork rinds
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 1 tbsp bacon grease with a little bacon bits leftover from breakfast*
    *not pictured because they were added as an afterthought when mixing everything together
My Method
1. Preheat oven to 350.
2. Dice onion, carrot, and bell peppers finely.
3. Use your handy-dandy food processor to reduce your pork rinds to bread-crumb like dust.
4. Add all ingredients to large bowl and mix well.
5. Place in loaf pan and pat down.
6. Bake. The original recipe called for 30-40 minutes of baking. Mine went for 60 minutes. Everything I’ve read says that ground turkey should be baked to an internal temperature of anywhere from 160 – 170. I still wasn’t reaching that point at 60 minutes – I think I might need a new meat thermometer. I could see that the meat was cooked through so I took it out. I would suggest that if you try this, test your meat temperature and be sure the turkey is cooked through.
7. Let cool, serve, and enjoy!

It was delish. Made great leftovers, I think it was even better on the second and third day!

Learn how to cook–try new recipes, learn from your mistakes, be fearless, and above all have fun!
~ Julia Child, My Life in France

What do you think?

