Movie Monday – Breaking Dawn Part 1, No Ordinary Family

I don’t know how I let it happen. We watched Breaking Dawn Part 1 last night. We get free rental codes for Redbox, usually about once a month. We aren’t always able to use them because they are only good for 24 hours and sometimes it’s just not a good day for watching a movie. But we got one yesterday. We browsed through the titles looking for something and were vacillating between Puss In Boots, A Very Harold and Kumar 3D Christmas, or Breaking Dawn. Don thinks I’m too hard on the Twilight movies because I didn’t like the books. I fell asleep during the last movie – I couldn’t take it anymore. And I knew, I KNEW, this one would be much the same. Yet, I have my own strange curiosity to see how the story plays out on the screen. So I agreed to Breaking Dawn. And I regretted it. Although, I think Don finally came over to the dark side with me. We both agree, Breaking Dawn Part 1 = spectacularly awful. No offense to those who love it. I know many do and I don’t care to espouse on my reasons why I don’t because bottom line is we’ll never see eye to eye. I do want to see the last movie, probably the only one I want to see, because I actually liked the latter half of the last book. That’s when all the good stuff finally started happening. Here’s hoping for a redeeming Part 2 and final ending to the painful saga that is the Twilight Series.

It’s not a movie, but something else we have enjoyed via Netflix streaming lately is the ABC tv series No Ordinary Family. If you like superheroes, supernatural powers, sci-fi, and comics, this show is a lot of fun. It’s not off-the-charts, rock-your-world-awesome, but it was FUN. Unfortunately, after finishing Season 1 this weekend we learned the show was cancelled due to low ratings after one season. Bummer! I still say it’s worth checking out if you’re looking for something new or different to watch and didn’t catch it when it first aired in 2010. The show follows the lives of an ordinary family that suddenly exhibit extraordinary powers and they soon learn they aren’t the only ones. Katie, comic-book geek and sidekick to the wife of the family, was my favorite character. She was quirky and I loved her irreverent knowledge of comics and superheroes.

Incidentally, I couldn’t help but notice that even though it got cancelled and had a few holes in the plot that a hardcore sci-fi fan might argue, No Ordinary Family got a higher rating on IMDb (6.9) than Breaking Dawn (4.7). Guess I’m not the only one who doesn’t swoon for Edward and Bella. 🙂

Doesn’t he know that lots of super couples work together? Cyclops and Phoenix; Green Lantern and Hawkgirl; Power Man and Iron Fist. Ok they’re not really a couple, but you know I’ve always had my suspicions…and there’s the stop talking face.
~ Katie, No Ordinary Family

What do you think?

