Movie Monday – The Sitter, Ghost Protocol, Water for Elephants, 50/50, Hop

It was a big movie week for us!

The Sitter
This was not a great movie. Not a total wreck but really, not very good. It reminded me of Adventures in Babysitting, but far inferior. Basically, deadbeat college student gets suckered into babysitting and of course chaos ensues. But the main character was not endearing, he was not someone I felt like rooting for, and the decisions he made were dumb. There were a few cheap laughs and I enjoyed the young girl character of the three children he was babysitting. I say steer clear of this movie unless you’re really desperate or just really a fan of Jonah Hill.

Ghost Protocol
Great entertainment, lots of action, enjoyable characters, well driven plot. I was pleasantly surprised. Granted, Tom Cruise is getting up there in years to be swinging from skyscrapers and hanging on to the tops of cars, but…it worked. Don says he liked this installment the best of them all. I still think the first MI was the best. This is the best of the sequels.

Water for Elephants
Very well done. I read the book and have been eager to see how the story played out on the big screen. I thought it was great. Don even liked it and I know he thought I had talked him into a chick flick. But it’s so much more than that. If you haven’t seen it, check it out.

50/50
A friend told me I had to see this one. So I decided to give it a try. It was good but it wasn’t fun, for me. I cried. I laughed. It’s a good story and it’s done well but it’s a rough topic. A young man learns he has cancer. The story follows his life for a few months after the diagnosis, the people he meets, the struggles he endures. There’s some good, and of course some tragedy. It is a good movie but not the type we usually go for. If you like dramas, it’s a good choice.

Hop
Rebellious son of the Easter Bunny runs away to seek success as a drummer in Hollywood instead of taking over the family business. 🙂 I actually had really low expectations for this movie. I figured it was a family flick and that it would be ok but not really good. I couldn’t have been more wrong. It was well done and it was a lot of fun! I found myself smiling throughout most of the movie. Any movie that can make me smile for long periods of time is a winner in my book. It’s not a something I’d buy or watch repeatedly but it was a million times better than The Sitter. LOL

Brandt: The rope isn’t long enough!
Ethan Hunt: No shit!
~ Ghost Protocol

One comment

What do you think?

