Movie Monday – Game of Thrones, American Dad

Sadly, we’ve been too busy to watch any movies this past week. I have a feeling we might not catch anything this week either. We are up to our eyeballs in boxes, moving, and soon to be cleaning. Ugh, the cleaning.

In the few moments of free time we did have this past week, we caught up on Episode 4 (Season 2) of Game of Thrones. For those that don’t know, Game of Thrones is an HBO series, based on a phenomenal fantasy series by George R.R. Martin. It’s one of my favorite reads and listed in my Reading Corner. It is a massively epic story of 7 noble houses warring over a mythical world called Westeros. Lots of intrigue like in any courtly society. So many characters it can be dizzying. I think I might have had an easier time keeping people straight in the books than in the show. If you’re not used to such a diverse cast you might need to keep notes. (Not kidding.) Don has not read the books but he seems to be enjoying the series as much I am. A little warning, it can be graphic, it is HBO after all – sex scenes, torture, battles. There have been a couple of occasions when I’ve had to avert my eyes. I just really don’t need to see field surgery on a soldier who must lose his leg so it doesn’t rot off. Hearing it’s bad enough. If I haven’t totally turned you off with that, I’d suggest Game of Thrones to anyone who enjoys drama, intrigue, or action. Even if you’re not a big fan of fantasy. There’s only a little bit of dragons and magic here and there. 🙂 And if you don’t get HBO, you can still watch. Season 1 is out on DVD and I’m sure there are ways to watch online, if you’re resourceful.

Another standby for us is American Dad. Since we don’t have cable these days, when we want something quick and easy to throw on the tv while winding down before bed, we often stream American Dad on netflix. Completely absurd, offensive, and so NOT politically correct, it can be a fun way to unwind. The first few times we watched (which was sometime in the last year or two, although it’s been on tv since 2005) I was not impressed by its over-the-top stupidity. But it really grew on me. I like it better than Family Guy and it’s right on par with South Park, which we don’t seem to catch much these days. (Can you believe South Park is in its 16th season? Holy crap!) If you don’t mind a little offensive humor and haven’t seen American Dad yet I encourage you to check it out. You just might like it.

Francine Smith: [after finding out Stan’s been lying about his father] I can’t believe you lied to me all these years.
Stan Smith: And the best part is I’m still lying about a bunch of other stuff!
~ American Dad 

2 comments

  1. You hit on two of my favourites here! I’m starting to kind of lose it with GoT though – they are monkeying around too much with the plot (I know it’s understandable given that they have to cram it into a tv series but still, I adored the books so much that it feels like heresy!).

    As for American Dad, one word: Roger 🙂

    Like

What do you think?

