Spicy pico de gallo

This is off the charts amazing. 

I ate so much last night I still smell the onion on me. Well, maybe that’s not a great selling point but I just get a kick out of the fact that, hmm…10 years ago, or maybe even 5, I wouldn’t have touched this stuff with a ten foot pole. I never ate onions growing up and Don spent many nights dicing up onions so small to add flavor to dishes to gradually break me in. Over time the pieces grew larger to the point now that I just LOVE sautéed onions, big fat onion rings, big chunks of onion in my stir fry…I think you get the picture.

I was busy unpacking boxes and other such just-moved-in type organizing while he was putting this together last night. But, once I tasted it, I HAD to have him re-trace his steps for me so I could share with you how to make your own.

He made A LOT. So you might consider cutting back on quantities, in less you want a huge jar of pico for a few days.

As usual, Don threw this together on his own instincts. I did look up basic recipes to see that the common core ingredients were onion, tomato, peppers of choice (usually jalapenos), cilantro, and lime juice but he wasn’t interested. He had his own plan in mind. Warning: it’s got some kick, so if you’re not a fan of fire, well, then you might cut back on some spicy elements. 🙂

Spicy pico de gallo

  • 1 whole sweet onion
  • 1 whole green bell pepper
  • 3 tomatoes
  • 1 lemon – squeezed
  • 1 lime – zested and squeezed
  • handful of fresh cilantro (OMG I love the smell of that stuff!)
  • 1 jalapeno pepper (home grown!)
  • 1 red unknown hot pepper (home grown, still have never identified these little beauties)
  • 3 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp white vinegar (to keep it fresh)
  • 1 tsp fresh ground pepper
  • 1 tbsp chili garlic paste

Note: he doesn’t actually measure the salt, etc. so those are our best guesses to his pinch of this and big spoonful of that.

Process:

  1. Dice all the vegetables, or (like Don) use a food processor to pulse them to small pieces.
  2. He diced the onion alone, then the tomatoes, then the peppers and cilantro together.
  3. Combine everything in a large mixing bowl and mix well. Chill in a serving dish or your storage container of choice (a mason jar works nicely) while you finish the preparation of the rest of your meal.

We served it over taco flavored pulled pork with fresh homemade guacamole (another item I didn’t dare eat until the last few years) and a little mozzarella cheese. (I know, the corn tortillas and the cheese are not for anyone on a strict paleo/primal/low-carb diet, but hey, it was our allowance for the day.)

They were so good I can’t wait to get home and have leftovers tonight!

Organic farming has been shown to provide major benefits for wildlife and the wider environment. The best that can be said about genetically engineered crops is that they will now be monitored to see how much damage they cause.
-Prince Charles

What do you think?

