Movie Monday – Underworld: Awakening, The Avengers

Underworld: Awakening was a pleasant surprise! It was another that I wanted to see, because we’ve seen all the previous movies, but I didn’t have high expectations for it, being a 4th movie and all. I LOVE it when I’m wrong! Wait, I should rephrase that. I love it when I’m wrong, in this regard. It was GOOD! Now, if you don’t get into vampires, werewolves, the battle between the two and the cross-battle with humans, well…then this movie isn’t for you. But if you like fantasy, if you’re a fan of the Underworld movies, then don’t miss this latest installment. And of course, they left it open for another to follow and after how much I enjoyed this one, I hope they do make another. (Side note: I’ve got to get me one of those black skin-tight outfits with knee-high boots that Kate Beckinsale wears. Not that I’d have anywhere to wear it. It would just be nice to have in the closet in case of a zombie apocalypse or other end of the world scenario.) 🙂

And we made it to the theaters on Saturday to watch The Avengers, in 3D of course. I think it would have been just as great in 2D but Don really likes 3D. I think it makes everything a little too excessive. The movie is already over the top, in a good way, with non-stop action, and it drips with testosterone. Even Don commented afterwards that there was a bit too much testosterone in one room at times. But it’s appropriate and it works. We felt a little lost at times, having difficulty remembering tidbits from the movies leading up to it, so we rented Thor afterwards to try to answer some of our questions. It helped. I think if you had time, a marathon of the Iron Man, Captain America, and Thor movies before seeing The Avengers would be helpful. With Stark present, the quick wit flies with fury and you better listen close or you’ll miss some great lines. All in all, it was great fun and we look forward to the next installments, Thor 2 in November, Iron Man 3 in May 2013, and the next Avengers which I’m sure will be not long behind.

Stan Lee: Superheroes? In New York? Give me a break!
~ The Avengers

What do you think?

