Make Your Own Natural Deodorant

I have stepped deeper into the rabbit hole of crunchy living.

I have been wanting for some time now to make my own, natural deodorant, free from aluminum and other toxic chemicals and substances that are common in traditional deodorants. But for one reason (lame excuse?) or another it’s taken me too long to get it done. And yet when I finally did it, it only took me, maybe 10 minutes, tops. It was probably more like 5.

The biggest challenge was getting my hands on arrowroot powder which isn’t in great supply here in Lake Charles. I had considered ordering it on Amazon but, again, for whatever reason I just didn’t. Thankfully when I made a trip to the one health foods store in town to see if I could buy essential oils locally, I was able to buy both.

It still took me another week or two to finally set myself to the task of making my deodorant. Why? I don’t know. We’ve been busy packing, then unpacking, cleaning, sorting, donating, selling, organizing…I guess I just felt too overwhelmed to try something new. Silly, silly me.

I have read numerous blogs and articles with recipes for making your own deodorant but I hadn’t bookmarked any specific one. When I finally made time to do this earlier this week, I quickly looked up this recipe and it looked like what I had seen before, so I gave it a whirl.

Ingredients: 

  • ¼ cup baking soda
  • ¼ cup arrowroot powder
  • 8 tablespoons coconut oil
  • 4 drops of tea tree oil
  • an empty deodorant stick

In a mixing bowl, I combined the baking soda and arrowroot powder, then added the coconut oil gradually so I could monitor the thickness.

It’s pretty warm here which keeps our coconut oil in a fairly semi-soft state. I was able to add it right in and as I mixed, the oil softened even further making it easy to combine. (Don’t be fooled by it’s deceptive frosting-like appearance. It is not frosting.)

Once I was happy with the texture/thickness, I added about 4 drops of the tea tree oil.

A side note about tea tree oil: I was not sure about the scent because it is sometimes described as a “spicy, woodsy scent” which doesn’t really jump out as something I would be attracted to. It’s also described as having a “fresh, camphor-like scent.” Again, not sure about that on paper. But it can be useful around the house in many ways so I thought I’d give it a chance and if I didn’t like it on me, then hopefully I could still use it for a variety of other things. As it turns out, it’s not very fragrant and doesn’t bother me at all.

After mixing in the tea tree oil, I spooned the mixture into my empty deodorant stick.

As it turns out, this particular recipe makes about twice as much as my stick can hold.
Note to self: next time, cut recipe in half.

No real harm. I put the extra in a tupperware and it’s on reserve to refill my stick when it runs out.

Since trying to ditch traditional deodorant a few months ago, I’ve been using a crystal, or deodorant stone, which is ok, but there’s something about it that irritates my skin and I’ve had to take breaks from it every couple of weeks and give in to using the last little bit of traditional deodorant I hadn’t completely used up. Until about two weeks ago.

I’m on day 3 of this crunchy experiment and…I like it. So far nothing seems to be irritating my skin. Hopefully I’m not premature in declaring it a success. 🙂

Life is really simple, but we insist on making it complicated.
~ Confucius

9 comments

  1. This is brilliant. I really, really want to start making my own deodourant. I switched to ‘natural’ brands a while ago but they just don’t do the job. Sadly this recipe wouldn’t work for me (living in a hot country my coconut oil is permanently in a liquid form!) but I love that you tried it and that it works for you.

    Like

    1. I’ve tried various natural brands (Toms, etc.) over the years too and never liked any of them. Have you tried a crystal/stone? They are available where most natural brands are sold. It worked, my skin was just too sensitive to something and that might not be the case for everyone.

      Like

  2. This sounds so cool! I am going to try making this. I make homemade soap but I’ve never attempted deodorant. I use Sandy Maine’s recipe book called “The Soap Book: Simple Herbal Recipes.” I’ve also tried those crystal things but they made me itchy. It does not look nice to be scratching one’s armpits all day…LOL!

    Like

  3. Oh I’m definitely going to have to try this! I bought some Tom’s (they don’t test on animals) and it didn’t do squat to combat sweat or smell! Thank goodness I was just out in the yard because I was ripe!

    Like

What do you think?

