Reading Corner – Circle of Stars and Anybody Out There?

I was reading Circle of Stars, by Anna Lee Waldo, sequel to Circle of Stones, which I really enjoyed. I am sad to say that I did not enjoy Circle of Stars. In fact, I couldn’t keep myself focused on it, and I found myself setting it aside in favor of other tasks more and more. Eventually, with the press of the move, I stopped reading altogether. Eventually, after all the boxes were unpacked and life had quieted down, I made the decision that it was time to just call it quits for real, put it back on the shelf, and pick something else. I picked up Anybody Out There? by Marian Keyes. Instant fun. It was just what I needed to catapult me back into reading. Suddenly I was seeking out opportunities to read and setting aside other things in favor of reading. Anna, displaced Manhattanite, finds herself home in Dublin with her family, recovering from a tragic accident that she can’t even recall. (Or so you think.) I laughed, I cried a little. It’s actually not a riot the whole time, there’s quite a bit of tragedy and darkness after a certain point. I don’t want to spoil it but I would caution that it’s not perhaps for everyone. It is well written and I enjoyed it to an extent but it was a bit of a downer at the same time. As for Circle of Stars, where did it go wrong? I don’t really know. I enjoyed the first book immensely and would recommend it to those who enjoy historical fiction, but I just can’t say the same of the second installment.

The worth of a book is to be measured by what you can carry away from it.
– James Bryce

2 comments

  1. I’ve read Anybody Out There? and I agree – a very well-written book, and an emotional roller coaster. I love Marian Keyes, though, and have come to enjoy the surprises to be found in her unreliable narrators. Have you read Lucy Sullivan Is Getting Married? It’s my favorite of hers.

    Like

    1. I haven’t but it’s on my bookshelf. Since you say it’s a favorite, maybe I’ll give it another look. I just don’t want to read another that bums me out. I really like to read to escape and enjoy and for me that usually means fantasy, sci-fi, or historical fiction. The more contemporary fiction like Keyes just don’t often have the same appeal for me.

      Like

What do you think?

