Movie Monday – Dolphin Tale, Sex In The City 2, Mad Men

I have loved dolphins for as long as I can remember so Dolphin Tale was a must see for me. I really wanted to love the movie given the true story of Winter behind it’s making. But something was missing that kept it from coming together to make something amazing. I still enjoyed it. Animal lovers and kids would enjoy it. The raw footage of Winter’s rescue and rehabilitation after the movie ended was far more touching and I bawled my eyes out. I am in awe of the real doctors and volunteers who worked with Winter, saving her life and furthering the field of prosthetic science. That was the take-away for me.

I also watched Sex In the City 2 (again) this weekend. I wasn’t blogging when I saw it the first time so I thought it would be ok to include in today’s post. It was interesting to re-watch it. Especially since I just recently watched the first movie again about a week before. I don’t know if it’s because I watched them close together that it gave me a different perspective, or if I was just on a judgmental kick the first time I watched it. I remember really not liking it the first time around. SPOILER ALERT if you haven’t seen it. The fact that Carrie and Aidan kissed – even though they are both married to other people – really pissed me off the first time around. My first impression was also very influenced by the press the film was getting about the Abu Dhabi setting and the inappropriateness of the SITC characters in a Muslim culture. However, even though I still think it might have been inappropriate on a lot of levels, I felt the movie really does work when you look at it as a story of 4 girlfriends and their bonds, which was always what SITC was to me, underneath all the glamour, sex, and men. I liked it. I like the first one better, but the second one is fun too.

I broke down and watched the new episode of Mad Med on AMC last night, even though I’ve missed all the previous episodes of this season.  I’ve been eager to watch it now that we have cable again but I was trying to be strong, to wait and watch re-runs so I could catch up and watch them in order. But, I just couldn’t help myself last night. Oh. My. There is something so seductive, so addictive about Mad Men. I don’t know if it’s Don Draper, a fascination with the period, the costumes, or all of the above. I was completely consumed for the 60 minutes. I cannot wait to catch up on the rest of the season.

Don Draper: Good. And let’s also say that change is neither good nor bad, it simply is. It can be greeted with terror or joy, a tantrum that says “I want it the way it was,” or a dance that says, Look, something new!”
~ Mad Men 

What do you think?

