Reading Corner – Lucy Sullivan Is Getting Married

I finished Lucy Sullivan Is Getting Married by Marian Keyes this morning. I wish I could say I enjoyed it. I’m sorry folks! I know some of you really enjoy Marian’s writing. It is good writing. I don’t argue that at all. But the story was just not for me. I enjoyed it till about 150 pages in. It was all downhill from there. After that I started skimming and not reading word for word. I had invested enough time that I wanted to know how it ended, which was predictable (and satisfying) but it took forever to get there and all the stuff in between just made me crazy. On the surface, the story is a romance, but under that it’s really a story of the damaging effects of alcoholism in families and in the life of the main character, such as dating the wrong guys, etc.

I’m really not sure what to read next. It needs to be good. I feel like I haven’t really read something that I LOVED in a long while.

Books are a uniquely portable magic.
~ Stephen King

3 comments

  1. I recently got a copy of this from a friend who was clearing out her cupboards and man, it was dire. I couldn’t even get past the tenth page so kudos to you for struggling to pg150. Quite frankly it stank and I don’t have a good word to say about it. It’s just not my style.

    Like

What do you think?

