Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Sauce

A friend recently gave me two pounds of little tomatoes. I thought, Awesome!

Then I thought, What in the world do I do with them?

I did some quick browsing online for tomato sauce recipes and came across this simple recipe. I modified it slightly to my taste, and boy, does it taste good.

I used:

olive oil
2 pounds fresh tomatoes
1 red bell pepper
2 of my mystery peppers
3 tbsp minced garlic
grass-fed butter
kosher salt
freshly ground black pepper

First, I sliced all those little tomatoes. Let me tell you, I didn’t know what I was getting myself into. My hands were cramping only a quarter of the way into the slicing. But I persevered. I also diced up the red bell pepper and minced my little peppers. I layered them all in a 9×13 pan, lined with aluminum foil that I had brushed with coconut oil. I added the garlic, drizzled just a bit of olive oil over it, sprinkled a little salt and the pepper, mixing it all together well.

Before baking

I added a few slices of butter (I keep my frozen because we use butter so infrequently) scattered across the top, then baked for 3 hours at 250°F. It was coming along nicely but I wanted to really “roast” them and get a little char going so I kicked it up to 300°F and let them go for another 1.5 hours.

After baking

Next, because Don and I don’t really like chunky sauce, I poured the contents into a container and used my immersion blender to smooth out the mix.

Before blending

It made about 2 cups of sauce, maybe a little more. Just enough for one meal for two I believe. I cannot wait to enjoy over a plate of spaghetti squash with some spicy meatballs.

Food is our common ground, a universal experience.
~ James Beard

One comment

  1. My mouth is watering! That all looks completely delicious. Must have Italian food tonight, even if it isn’t as good as yours will be.

    Like

What do you think?

