Movie Monday – This Means War, Prometheus, John Carter, Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance

This Means War was SO much fun! Totally ridiculous and unreal in so many ways, but the banter between the characters was fresh and fun and I couldn’t help smiling for a time even after I was done watching. I laughed out loud more than once, and I thought, “ugh, that was lame” a few times. The story is simple, two friends competing for the same girl. Oh, and they are secret agents for the CIA so of course they have to use their special ops teams to spy on (and interfere with) each other’s progress. All in all, I say it was a good time. Don would NOT have liked it so I was glad to watch it solo and not have to listen to him dressing it down.

We went to the theater on Saturday and watched Prometheus. It was intense. I liked it but when the credits finally rolled, I let out a sigh of relief that it was over. I think I must have been holding my breath in suspense more than once. LOL And, there were at least two scenes that had me cringing and hiding behind my hands. There wasn’t a lot non-stop action, but it was suspenseful and interesting. For those that don’t know, Prometheus started out as a prequel project to the Aliens story, and it does share some key elements, but there’s a lot of other new mythology and weirdness. The movie ends with a clear idea of the direction of the next movie, if there is going to be another movie. There’s a lot of speculation going on about whether it will really come about. For whatever it’s worth, we would watch it.

We also rented John Carter Saturday night. Thankfully, it was much less intense and refreshing after watching Prometheus. I really liked it but I think it might be hard to follow for some, and for any serious sci-fi lovers, I think it might fall a bit short. The Disney influence allowed them to shortcut explaining a lot of things and you just have to accept a lot of strange and wild ideas at face value. That bothers me a little bit but in the long run, if you just roll with it and enjoy the story it’s not so bad. I don’t know how else to explain it other than to say it’s so very Disney. Based on a novel by Edgar Rice Burroughs called A Princess of Mars, this fantastical story is about a Civil War veteran who is accidentally transported to Mars, to find that not only is there life on Mars, but the civilizations are at war and of course he is pulled into the middle of the fray. It’s not especially sophisticated in any way but we enjoyed the ride.

Sunday we rented Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance. Please don’t even bother. We knew it hadn’t been received well but the first one was pretty good so I guess we just wanted to give it a chance. We should have listened to everyone else and saved ourselves the trouble.

FDR: Mistakes make us who we are. 
~ This Means War


3 comments

What do you think?

