Reading Corner – One Door Away From Heaven

I hate not finishing a book but I just got so sick of the way this one is written that I couldn’t do it anymore and I quit halfway through. One Door Away From Heaven by Dean Koontz appears to be one of those that either you love it, or you hate it. I clearly fall into the latter category. It started out promising. I was intrigued for a while. But in the end the repetitiveness of some things and the slow deliberate way Koontz withholds information from the reader just killed it for me. Part of me wanted some answers so I Googled as much as I could to get detailed information on the story and this Wiki explained a few things and makes it sound like an interesting read. It’s not. IMO. Or in this person’s opinion either. This reader however, has read it 3 times! I couldn’t even get through it once, much less fathom the idea of re-reading it. *shudder* Perhaps you just have to love Koontz’s writing to fully appreciate this novel.

On the other hand, 30 pages in to my next book, The Night Circus I was mesmerized. Stay tuned… 🙂

A good book has no ending. 
~ R.D. Cumming

What do you think?

