Movie Monday – Act of Valor, Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows, BRAVE, Wrath of the Titans, The Grey

Goodness, we had a busy weekend. We actually watched all these over the course of the last three days. I can’t decide if that’s good…or bad. 🙂

Act of Valor was good. It wasn’t outstanding but it was very good. I think Don appreciated that it was a bit more real where possible but we still picked at a few things that were definitely more Hollywood. We both cried at the end which I think is a mark of a good movie. Regardless of everything else, if a story or a character touches you enough to make you cry (or laugh) then the creator’s are doing something right. In my opinion.

Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows was good! I liked it more than I thought I would. I think I just expected it to not be as good as the first, and I would actually argue that the first is better, but the second installment was still fun and entertaining.

Disney’s BRAVE didn’t wow me. I almost wished we had gone to see Ted because I hear that’s a riot. BRAVE was sweet and fun but we probably could have waited for the rental. We just didn’t connect with it like we have some other animated films like, How to Train Your Dragon, Kung Fu Panda, Finding Nemo, or The Incredibles, to name a few favorites.

Wrath of the Titans. Eh. It was ok. I say skip it unless you’re a huge fan of fantasy-action or just want to see it because you saw the first one, Clash of the Titans. Which was what we did.

The Grey. Another so-so movie. It wasn’t terrible but the ending was not satisfying after investing nearly 2 full hours of watching. One of Don’s greatest complaints between action sequences was that survival skills really weren’t highlighted, aside from needing to make a fire time and time again. You only see the survivors eating food once and yet you see them travel great distances, through snow-drifts and freezing temperatures which would require a lot of food to actually endure. But I reminded Don that it’s a movie, not a survival documentary or reality show. The story wasn’t about how they were surviving so much as whether they would survive and the suspense created by constantly being tracked by wolves.

Professor Moriaty: People have an innate desire for conflict. So what you are fighting is not me, but rather mankind. War, on an industrial scale, is inevitable. I’m just supplying the bullets and bandages.
~ Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows

2 comments

  1. I’ve seen Ted and it’s pretty filthy but very, very funny. If you’re a Family Guy fan it might be the best thing you see all year 🙂

    Wanted to see the Grey but never got around to it so thanks for the review, I feel like I didn’t miss much!

    Like

What do you think?

