Make Your Own Taco Seasoning Blend

What about Movie Monday?!?!!! Sorry folks, I didn’t see a single movie this past week. Not anything new anyway. I know. So not like me. I even got a free Redbox code yesterday but there was nothing in the box that I wanted to see. I considered picking up The Vow just for the sake of being able to review something but I just couldn’t bring myself to submit to the drama-laden, chick-flick romance. We are also back to watching Eureka on Netflix together which is the other reason for not having picked up any movies this past week.

So I’m breaking with routine and sharing a recipe today instead. Hope you’ll forgive me. 🙂

For a few weeks now we have been making our own taco seasoning from spices we already have on hand, rather than buying the pre-mixed spices or packages, which tend to have extra preservatives and things we can’t pronounce that we don’t really want in our food.

I take no credit for the recipe; I got this blend from Mark’s Daily Apple and it is outstanding. Trip on other there and check out the website if you never have. You will find lots of great information about food, health, exercise, and even recipes.

Taco Seasoning

  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon coriander
  • 1/4 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper

I combine it all in a small bowl.

Once my ground beef is cooked thoroughly…

…I add the spices…

…and mix well.

I let it simmer on medium low heat for about 10 minutes, longer on lower if I need the extra time for other meal prepping.

Ready to serve!

The one difference from using pre-mixed seasoning is that I don’t add any water. If you use a really lean meat you might want to add a little water but I tried it without the first time and I like it just fine without adding water.

No one who cooks, cooks alone. Even at her most solitary, a cook in the kitchen is surrounded by generations of cooks past, the advice and menus of cooks present, the wisdom of cookbook writers.
~ Laurie Colwin

What do you think?

