Reading Corner – Never Let Me Go

Never Let Me Go by Kauzo Ishiguro is not the type of book I would normally pick up. I’m not sure how it ended up on my list to read, I’m thinking maybe I read a review in a magazine or online. The story is a nostalgic reminiscence of a seemingly idyllic childhood of three young friends and their years together at a private boarding school, but there is a constant undercurrent to the tone of the story, a hint of something sinister that is slowly revealed to the characters and reader. It is well written that is certain. Dark. Somber. Yet sweet. Generally, I enjoy stories with a little more action, or a more upbeat tone. This novel is expertly executed but it is a slow, deliberate, even-keeled ride which leaves me wanting a little more. I kept waiting for a BIG reveal but it’s not that kind of story. I can’t tell you more about it without spoiling part of the essence of the experience. If you like to question the world around you and find thought-provoking literature a challenging pleasure, then this book is right up your alley. You could also try the movie version, if that is more your speed.

The problem, as I see it, is that you’ve been told and not told. You’ve been told, but none of you really understand, and I dare say, some people are quite happy to leave it that way.
~ Miss Lucy, Never Let Me Go

What do you think?

