Reading Corner – The Alchemist’s Pursuit

I love Dave Duncan’s Venice series. The Alchemists’s Pursuit comes third, following The Alchemist’s Apprentice (book 1) and The Alchemist’s Code (book 2.) I could hardly put Pursuit down and I tore through it in only a few days. One morning I indulged in 3-4 hours of just reading, coffee, and quite solitude. It was bliss. I really enjoy the characters and setting. Each book has a murder or mystery to solve. In this installment, courtesans are being murdered in Venice and Nostradamus and his apprentice Alfeo work quickly to find the killer before the next victim. The Alchemist books are delightful, well-written stories that are rich in flavor and historical setting. I practically feel like I’m in Venice and I’ve never been there. If you like historical fiction, or mysteries, then you definitely should give this series a go.

That is a good book which is opened with expectation, and closed with delight and profit.
~ Amos Bronson Alcott

What do you think?

