You Wash Your Face With What?

Grapeseed oil, castor oil, and jojoba oil. I know. You’re looking at the screen and wondering if I’ve completely lost my mind. šŸ™‚

It’s called the oil cleansing method. I first heard about it on CaveGirlEats and then I read up more about it here, here, and here.

I’ve never really had a problem with my skin or acne, barring the occasional zit here and there. So I wasn’t out to find a cure-all for skin or acne problems, although if you do have problems, take the time to read what I’ve linked above. It has really cleared up troublesome skin for many others. For me, it satisfies my desire to use less chemicals that I can’tĀ pronounceĀ on my skin and it costs a heck of a lot less in the long run. This stuff goes a long way.

So how does it work exactly?

  • Rub wash oils into face well.
  • Steam off with very hot washcloth.
  • Wipe clean to be sure all is gone.
  • Apply a tiny bit of jojoba oil for moisturizing.

Really. That’s it. Takes maybe 3 minutes.

To be a little more specific, I fill my sink about half-way with hot, almost too hot, water and add my washcloth.

I pour a small bit of the castor oil into the palm of my hand, about half the size of a dime. (It’s not an exact science, I just try for a very small amount.)

I pour twice the amount of the grapeseed oil into the same palm, ending up with about a quarter-sized puddle of oil in my hand.

I rub my hands together to mix them well, then I rub it all over my face, massaging it a bit.

Next is the steaming. I ring out the hot washcloth and place it over my face. This can be done by tipping your head back or just leaning over and holding it to your face. I find that it doesn’t stay hot for very long so I repeat this process about 3-4 times so I can steam my forehead as well as the lower half of my face. Then I wipe my whole face just to be sure I’ve removed all the oil.

Lastly, I add the tiniest bit of jojoba oil to my fingers and apply it to my face for moisturizer.

I know, this might seem like a lot of work to some, especially if you’reĀ accustomedĀ to just washing your face in the shower with whatever face wash you prefer. It took the slightest bit of adjustment for me too but the bang for my buck is that it jives with certain personal values and just plain makes me feel better. Like recycling.

I have to be honest, I don’t always do it every night. Sometimes I just plain forget. And some sources say you don’t need to do it every day. But I have been doing it pretty consistently for over a month now and although I can’t give you any impressive before and after photos, I can say that I haven’t had a negative reaction to it and that I’m happy with the results.

Learning never exhausts the mind.
~ Leonardo da Vinci

One comment

  1. This has been on my list of crunchy things to try but the castor oil stops me cold. After my few attempts at self induction via castor oil, even the thought of the stuff trips my gag reflex. If bar soap causes my face to melt off, Darren will have to live with that šŸ˜‰

    Like

What do you think?

