Reading Corner – Covet

This past week I finished Covet, by J.R. Ward. A strange medley of angels, demons, good vs. evil, and sex, Covet is the first of a series called Fallen Angels. The fate of the world lies in the hands of one man who is charged with saving the souls of seven people, each afflicted by one of the seven deadly sins – one book for each sin/soul to be saved. (Only 4 have been published thus far.) If he fails, the world will be consumed by evil. If he succeeds, the world continues as normal. There are fallen angels, both good and evil, helping him and trying to lead him astray. Meh. I didn’t love it. I didn’t hate it. At least not enough to set it aside and not finish it. But I also didn’t enjoy it enough to read it closely. I skimmed it mostly. Basically I got far enough in that I wanted to know how things turned out so I powered through. The concept is unique and interesting. But the characters weren’t quite right for me. Something didn’t click. I won’t be reading on.

Be as careful of the books you read, as of the company you keep, for your habits and character will be as much influenced by the former as the latter.
~ Paxton Hood

What do you think?

