Movie Monday – Dark Shadows, Snow White and the Huntsman, Men In Black 3

Funny, IMDb gives both Snow White and the Huntsman and Dark Shadows a 6.4 but I enjoyed Snow White more than Dark Shadows. I would lean closer to a 7 for Snow White and maybe a 5.5 for Dark Shadows.

Dark Shadows was inspired by the soap opera of the same name that ran between 1966 and 1971. I don’t know anything about the show so I can’t say personally whether the movie did justice to it or not, but there has been some criticism in the press that the film lacks substance and isn’t very funny or engaging. I would have to agree. However, I do like Johnny Depp and I do think his performance is right on the mark. There just wasn’t enough umph to really make the movie pop for me. So, I would say that if you’re a fan of Depp, it’s worth watching, just don’t expect a lot from it.

I imagery of Snow White was delightful. The film had some outstanding effects, decent story and performances, and I really enjoyed the slightly twisted ways they played with the Snow White story. The one thing I didn’t like was the ending but that’s probably personal preference. I just felt robbed at the end. No spoilers here. If you want to know, you’ll have to watch. 🙂

Men In Black 3 was the best of the week. Much better than I thought it was going to be. I almost didn’t even want to watch it because I though 2 wasn’t that great and I guess I just figured it wasn’t going to be all that interesting. Don really wanted to give it a try though so I thought what the heck. I am happy to have been wrong and I’m glad we watched it. We enjoyed it, even laughed out loud, and I thought they kept the character of Agent K very consistent even with a younger actor playing him in the past. Well done guys.

Agent K: Do you know what is the most destructive power in the universe?
Agent J: Sugar?
Men In Black 3, 2012

6 comments

  1. Totally agree with you on MIB 3. Of course, I’m biased because I liked both 1 & 2, but in addition to making my laugh, 3 tugged at my heartstrings much more than I expected. Very pleasant surprise!

    Like

  2. Haven’t seen any of these yet, although I’m with Kim, I liked both the previous MIB installments. I want to see Snow White, but, honestly, Charlize looks so amazing it’s going to be hard not to root for her evil queen. I’m not a big Kristin Stewart fan 🙂

    Like

What do you think?

