Fresh Jicama Salad

I’ve been interested in picking up unfamiliar items and giving them a try so while I was at the store this past week, I browsed the produce looking for something we’ve never tried. I settled on jicama. I wasn’t sure what I would do with it but I knew I’d heard of it, probably on the Food Network, so I knew how to pronounce it (HIH-ka-ma) even if I didn’t have a clue how to prepare or serve it.

After a few quick searches, I settled on making a salad but I also found that it might be great in soups and I also think it tastes great just by itself. I was surprised because the gentleman in line behind me commented that it was very woody and root-like in taste. I completely disagree! It’s almost sweet, crisp and refreshing.

I must credit this recipe for getting me started.

Ingredients

  • 1 jicama
  • 1 lime
  • 2 oranges
  • 1/2 red bell pepper
  • 1/2 yellow bell pepper
  • handful of cilantro
  • 1 jalapeno
  • 1 tiny mystery pepper
  • sea salt
  • pepper

  • Peel the jicama and cut into thin sticks.

  • Zest and squeeze the lime over the jicama sticks.
  • Zest the oranges. Peel and cut into small pieces. Add to bowl.
  • Chop peppers and add to bowl.
  • Roughly chop cilantro and add to bowl.
  • Mix well.

  • Season with salt and pepper to taste.

Refreshing and light, this salad makes a great snack or a nice side dish to your dinner meal.

Just listen to your body, eat in silence and see what feels good and you will spontaneously choose the foods that are beneficial to you.
~ Deepak Chopra

One comment

What do you think?

