Shrimp Salad

I’ve never been a huge salad eater. What am I saying? I didn’t even eat lettuce until about 7 years ago. So I guess it goes without saying that even though I would eat salads, I never really got all that excited about salads until the past year.

We make some dynamite salads these days. This shrimp salad is a prime example. I think I ate 5 of the 6 portions over the subsequent two weeks. (Don’t judge me! Don was taking too long and I didn’t want the shrimp to go to waste.)

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb shrimp, cleaned and deveined, and chopped if you want smaller pieces (as we did)
  • 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tsp lemon pepper
  • 1 1/2 tsp Italian seasoning
  • 1 lime – zested and squeezed
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 2 red mystery peppers (home grown)

Combine ingredients and let the shrimp marinate for at least an hour in the fridge.

Heat your pan to high or medium high, get it good and hot. Then add your shrimp and marinade and cook, stirring frequently, for 2-3 minutes until the shrimp firms up and turns white.

Can you see the difference? In the photo above, the shrimp has just gone in the pan and it’s still limp and translucent for the most part.

Below, you can see the little pieces have firmed up.

Once cool, move to storage containers and store as desired; or enjoy right away on a salad.

We were prepping for easy meals during the week so we portioned out 6 servings and froze the containers. Then all you have to do is make the greens part of your salad. This makes a GREAT, quick and easy lunch for work. All I have to do is grab the salad container and one of the shrimp containers and take them both to work. By lunchtime the shrimp have defrosted, I warm them slightly in the microwave, throw on my salad and I’m done! Easy, peasy.

A recipe has no soul.  You, as the cook, must bring soul to the recipe.
~ Thomas Keller

What do you think?

