Dark Chocolate Avocado Brownies

I know. Sounds weird right? Pretty good though. šŸ™‚

Ingredients

  • 3.5 oz dark chocolate
  • 2 1/2 avocados
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 cup raw honey
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 1/2 cup walnuts
  • 1/4 cup coconut flakes
  • 1/4 cup almond milk
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 tbsp palm sugar
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 tbsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt

A tip for melting your chocolate, place a metal or glass bowl over a pan with a little boiling water. You’ve just made your own double broiler.

Works like a charm!

I use raw honey which is in a more solid state than most so I added the honey and the coconut oil to the pan to melt them down as well.

While the chocolate melted I used the food processor to reduce theĀ avocadosĀ until they were smooth. My avocados were not as ripe as I thought so I added the vanilla to the processor to help smooth them out. It worked pretty well.

Now it was time to add the rest of the ingredients, in no particular order, and combine it all well.

I was a little nervous since this was a new experiment for me, many of the ingredients I didn’t measure exactly, and I was ad-libbing a bit from other paleo avocado brownies recipes out there, examples here, here, and here. But it looked pretty good so I crossed my fingers and prayed.

Into the oven at 350 for 35 minutes.

If you like your brownies fudgey, this recipe might not be for you. These have a more cake-like consistency but they are moist and yummy if you like dark chocolate. (Not really my thing but I was making them for Don and he gave them a thumbs up!)

Giving chocolate to others is an intimate form of communication, a sharing of deep, dark secrets.
~ Milton Zelman

One comment

What do you think?

