Movie Monday – Rock of Ages

Wow. What a movie. I’m totally torn over Rock of Ages. I don’t know if I love it or think it’s too silly. I don’t know if I’d want to watch it again or if once was enough. On the one hand I laughed my butt off at times, at the sheer hilarity of the breaking out into song in the middle of a scene (the Broadway-esque style to the film, which I think I wasn’t totally prepared for.) On the other, I was up and dancing in my living room at least three times throughout the movie. I really enjoyed the music. And some of the choreography was just outstanding. The characters were…interesting to say the least. Lots of great actors of course and the performances were great. I didn’t connect with the youngest characters, I was more interested in the older characters – a sign of my age I suppose. In terms of the music, my age was spot on for relating to the songs. I sang along with most of them and I was impressed with myself for knowing lyrics that in some cases I hadn’t heard or thought of in years! I have to admit it was fun and good for a laugh. I still don’t know if I’d watch it again or not. LOL

All that stuff about heavy metal and hard rock, I don’t subscribe to any of that. It’s all just music. I mean, the heavy metal from the Seventies sounds nothing like the stuff from the Eighties, and that sounds nothing like the stuff from the Nineties. Who’s to say what is and isn’t a certain type of music?
~ Ozzy Osbourne 

2 comments

  1. I’ve been thinking I need to see it, that music is totally in my sweet spot, but I’ve been hesitating- not a huge Tom Cruise fan. How was he? I heard he was actually a pretty good singer???

    Like

    1. I’m not a big fan either but his performance was rather good. The movie is not all about his character, there are a lot of other characters and they all get about equal screen time. I think it was well balanced that way.

      Like

What do you think?

