Chocolate-Avocado Frosting

YUM!

Don was dropping me hints that my Avocado Brownies would be even better with frosting. So I did some quick searching for paleo frosting options. I knew I had seen some with avocados before and I thought what better way to round out the avocado theme. I used this recipe as my base making slight changes and reducing it since we already ate half the brownies by this time.

Ingredients

  • 1 and 1/2 avocados
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1 and 1/4 tsp coffee grounds
  • 1 and 1/2 tsp spiced rum
  • dash of salt

So easy to make. Just combine everything well with a food processor.

I started with the avocados.

I added the vanilla first, then the maple syrup. The extra liquid helps smooth out the avocado chunks.

Then I added the cocoa. And everything else.

It was Don’s idea to add a little spiced rum. It’s a nice touch.

I really like the texture of the coffee grounds too.

It made about one cup.

I suggest spreading it over a warmed brownie and eating immediately. Mmm… divine. Save the rest in the fridge until needed.

Please excuse my too-close photo. I don’t know what I was thinking. 🙂

…the avocado is a food without rival among the fruits, the veritable fruit of paradise.
~ David Fairchild 
3 comments

What do you think?

