Movie Monday – The Five-Year Engagement

Don was working this past weekend so I took the opportunity to watch The Five-Year Engagement while he wasn’t around. Good choice on my part. I’m not even sure I liked it all that much. It was ridiculously long, a little dull in parts, and I only laughed out loud once or twice. But, it did have some endearing qualities. It wasn’t your typical fluffy, cookie-cutter romantic comedy. It had some real world life problems and choices that the characters faced. Admittedly that is why some parts were a little dull. It lacked the glamour and farce of a more over-the-top comedy. Some people like it for that reason – review 1, review 2. For me, it’s just a little plain. I wouldn’t recommend anyone rush out and pick it up, but if you’ve got a rainy day to kill and nothing else to watch, it could help you pass the time. Who knows, you might even like it for its attempt to set itself apart from your run-of-the-mill rom-com.

Any ideas when this wedding might happen? Grandparents do have a tendency to die.
Sylvia, The Five-Year Engagement

One comment

  1. I was curious about this movie. I think there’s nothing like a good rom-com to help you unwind, but there are so many terrible rom-coms out there that I’m always a little hesitant to check them out. This looks like it might not be bad with a nice glass of wine and some dark chocolate – I kind of enjoy the less over-the-top ones. 🙂 Thanks for the review!

    Like

What do you think?

