Pear and Nutmeg Muffins

I’m really not sure these were worth all the effort. Tasty but way too much preparation and cooking for my taste. I can’t fault the original recipe which is meant to make 6 regular sized muffins (or cupcakes), but I only had one pear (Don used one for breakfast before I had a chance to make these), so I reduced the recipe, and then I used an over-sized muffin pan so instead of three, I made two larger muffins.

Ingredients

  • 1 pear
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 2 tsp water
  • 2 tbsp coconut flour
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 2 and 1/2 tbsp raw honey
  • 1/8 tsp baking powder

Much like banana bread, you want to mix your dry ingredients in one bowl, your wet in another, and you also need to soften your pear on the stove with a little of the honey and half the nutmeg. This seemed to take forever. In retrospect I probably could have upped the burner temp and been more watchful but I kept it low and was doing other things only checking back occasionally to stir.

Once suitably soft, you want to mash or puree your pear, then let cool so you can add it to your other wet ingredients. Then combine the wet and the dry.

Place in your muffin pan and bake. The original recipe says 12-15 min at 375. My muffins went for 28 minutes and honestly I think I should have left them in for another 3-5. They were a little gooey inside but I was so over this experiment after spending two hours on it for two measly muffins.

Not to put you off from trying this. I did find my muffin delightfully delicious especially right out of the oven. But I would recommend following the original recipe rather than my shortened version – and using a regular pan, not the biggie size, or be prepared to cook for much longer than you might expect.

You learn as much from those who have failed as from those who have succeeded.
~Michael Johnson

One comment

What do you think?

