Chicken and Water Chestnuts Over Rice

A fellow foodie blogger that I enjoy following posted a recipe this week that I thought I would try. His Red Cooked Chicken sounded like a perfect way to use the two chicken thighs I was planning to use to make a Kung Pao style chicken stir fry for dinner anyway. I thought it would be fun to try something different. I adapted quite a few things to suit ingredients we have on hand and to accommodate my much smaller portion. All in all, it turned out pretty good. I played it super safe with seasoning since it was new and therefore it lacked our typical “wow” factor but it was still good eats. I would recommend it as an easy meal to make.

Ingredients

First, I fried the onions in a little EVOO for just a couple of minutes.

Next, I removed the onions and set them aside. Then seared the chicken in the oil.

While the chicken browned, I made my rice. Place your cauliflower heads in a food processor…

and pulse until it looks something like this. Be careful not to just turn it on and walk away. It can over-process and then it’s not so much like rice. (Yeah, I did that once.)

We like to put it on the stove with a little broth, about 1/4 cup, and heat to warm. This helps cut the cauliflower smell a little and warms up the rice.

(We usually put a lid on it to keep it warm.)

Once my chicken was browned enough, I added the rest of the ingredients and heated to boiling.

Then I turned it down a little and covered it, letting it simmer on medium for an hour.

After the hour, it looked something like this.

I took the chicken out and removed the bones. (It falls off pretty easy the chicken is so tender.)

I added it back to the pan, left the lid off and let the liquid cook down.

Once all the liquid cooked off I dished up and dug in.

Looks pretty, but this is actually how I prefer to eat it. LOL

Honestly, if you’ve never tried this with cauliflower, you hardly notice it’s not “real” rice. If you’re looking to cut back on carbs or you are new to exploring a more paleo/primal food focus this is one way you can still enjoy your Asian style dishes. We love it. We stopped eating rice over a year ago and don’t even miss it. (Yes, we do still eat it from time to time at restaurants or other people’s houses, but we haven’t purchased and cooked rice since May of 2011.)

It would be nice if the Food and Drug Administration stopped issuing warnings about toxic substances and just gave me the names of one or two things still safe to eat.
~ Robert Fuoss

2 comments

What do you think?

