Movie Monday – The Campaign, The Amazing Spider-Man

This past week we watched The Campaign and The Amazing Spider-Man. Of the two I liked the first better.

I was pleasantly surprised by The Campaign. I don’t generally like the type of movies that Will Ferrell makes, things like Talladaga Nights, Stepbrothers, Elf, and even Anchorman, which I know some people love. That Saturday Night Live style humor just isn’t something that appeals to me. But The Campaign was surprisingly clever and smart. Absurd and excessive but topical at the same time. And for once the absurdity wasn’t a turn-off for me. The chemistry just worked. We both really enjoyed it. Thumbs up for this one.

Spider-Man on the other hand…ugh. Why did they make it again? It’s just too damn soon to be making it again. Sure, the effects were amazing. His costume is outstanding. The scenes of him flying through the city from building to building and crane to crane are spectacular. I’m sure it was impressive in 3-D at the theater. And for young people who haven’t seen the previous versions, perhaps this is more compelling. But the story was only halfway interesting (to us) and the new cast and characters (Gwen – what happened to Mary Jane?) did not do anything for us. I couldn’t relate or feel anything for the characters. That’s pretty rare for me. I even felt more for the cast/characters of the new Footloose remake and I was horrified that they decided to remake an old favorite of mine. To sum up, I didn’t like it. I can appreciate the quality and skill of the filmmaking but I didn’t enjoy it as a story.

Cam Brady: My heart is pounding. Like a phone book in a dryer.
~ The Campaign

4 comments

  1. I was a bit disappointed by The Campagin, just couldn’t laugh about much.

    Still have not seen Spiderman, but then again I’m not feeling like I’m missing much as it’s just another reboot

    Like

  2. Oh bummer, I was hoping spiderman was going to be decent. The previews were interesting to me and I thought the tale of his beginnings would be good. Well, thanks for saving me a couple hours of my life 😉

    Like

  3. As you’ll see from my review of Spidey’s latest blockbuster, we had slightly differing opinions on it. I felt that it was different enough from the Raimi iteration to fully justify its existence – but I wholly respect your issues with it.

    Like

What do you think?

