Acorn Squash Breakfast Bowl

This is our first taste of acorn squash and the first time we’ve roasted a squash. I’ve been wanting to make this recipe from PaleOMG for ages and I finally got around to it today. I feel so silly for not making the time to try this sooner. It really wasn’t very labor intensive or difficult to make. I don’t know why I procrastinated so long.

I diverged only slightly from the original recipe by adding jalapeno and chili garlic paste to our version.

Ingredients

  • 1 acorn squash
  • about 3/4 lb of breakfast sausage
  • 2 eggs
  • ½ onion, diced
  • 1 jalapeno, diced
  • 1 tsp of chili garlic paste
  • salt and pepper

First things first, I preheated the oven to 375 while I cut and de-seeded my squash.

IMG_7662

Then into the oven with the squash. I roasted mine for about 20 minutes and it was fine but I think it could have gone a little longer to be softer and easier to work with.

IMG_7677

While the squash roasted, I diced my onion and jalapeno.

IMG_7671

Then I cooked them down on the stove a bit, along with the chili garlic paste and a little leftover bacon grease.

IMG_7674

Next I added the sausage.

IMG_7676

I cooked it all down over medium heat, breaking up the sausage as much as possible.

IMG_7678

About this time, the squash came out and it was time to remove the innards and add them to the pan, mixing it all together well and adding a bit of salt and pepper.

IMG_7683

Then I stuffed it all back into the squash bowls. I couldn’t make all of it fit but I came darn close! Then I made a well for the egg.

IMG_7686

And back into the oven. The original recipe suggested 10-15 minutes of baking or until the egg is cooked to your liking. Ours ended up going for 25 minutes before our eggs looked sufficiently cooked enough.

IMG_7690

It was filling and flavorful! Don gave me a thumbs up. 🙂

We should look for someone to eat and drink with before looking for something to eat and drink.
~ Epicurus

3 comments

  1. I made a variation of this earlier in the week. I had to cook the squash longer too, but I think my issue is mostly the oven temp regulation. I did this as a casserole. I made the mixture per the recipe but I scrambled the eggs, put the mixture in an 8×8 then sprinkled with eggs and a little shredded colby jack. It was delicious.

    Like

What do you think?

