Sauerkraut Brownies

I did it! I tried Cat’s Sauerkraut Brownies. I know. Sounds weird. They are good though! I think I might do a couple of things differently next time but there will definitely be a next time.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 1/2 cup melted (room temperature) butter
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 5 large eggs
  • 3 tbsps honey
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup rinsed and finely diced sauerkraut

First things first. I rinsed the sauerkraut really well and let it drain while I got all my other ingredients and things together. Then I used the food processor to finely dice the sauerkraut.

IMG_7751

I then sifted my coconut flour, baking powder, and cocoa powder.

IMG_7756

IMG_7757

In another bowl I mixed the eggs, honey, and butter. This was actually a little difficult because I use raw honey which is rather thick and the eggs were quite cold, making my honey refuse to melt and stir easily. But I powered through and made it work.

Next I added the wet ingredients to the dry and mixed together well, then added the sauerkraut.

IMG_7761

IMG_7763

See? They look normal. You can hardly see any sauerkraut. 🙂 (That’s an 8 x 8 dish if anyone is wondering.)

Cat’s recipe says to bake at 375 for 20 minutes. I looked at the darn thing so many times, I don’t know how I screwed it up, but I had my oven set to 350. After 20 minutes I realized (when I thought it didn’t look quite done) that my oven was not at the proper temp. So I left it in for about 26 minutes total.

IMG_7771

Since this is my first time making these I don’t know how the change in temperature might have changed the overall texture. They are a little flaky and fall apart easy but they don’t necessarily taste dry, although that seems like the most appropriate way to describe them. It’s a little weird. But despite the texture, the taste is great. Don agrees. I like them much better than the Dark Chocolate Avocado Brownies I made. The primary difference being the darkness of the chocolate. I just don’t like dark chocolate and the cocoa powder used for these is not dark.

Next time, I’d like to increase some of the ingredients so the brownies are a little thicker. I’d also like to add walnuts, and perhaps an extra egg or extra sauerkraut to increase the moistness of the texture. Suggestions on which way you think I should go?

If there’s no chocolate in Heaven, I’m not going.
~ Jane Seabrook, Furry Logic Laugh at Life

Related Content

2 comments

What do you think?

