Cauliflower Avocado Soup

I know, sounds weird. Who doesn’t think that when reading my blog? 🙂

Thanks to Cat for posting this on her blog and making it sound interesting enough to try.

Ingredients

  • 1 head cauliflower, roughly chopped
  • 1/2 sweet onion, roughly chopped
  • 1 parsnip, peeled and chopped
  • 4 cups chicken broth
  • 1/2 ripe avocado, roughly chopped
  • a little EVOO to saute the onions
  • salt to taste

Using a large saucepan, I sauteed the onion for about 5 minutes and then added the cauliflower, parsnip, and chicken broth to the pan.

IMG_8169

I brought it to a boil and then let it simmer for about 25 minutes (until the veggies were soft.)

Then I moved it to the counter where I added a little salt, added the roughly cut avocado, and used my KitchenAid Immersion Blender to blend it all to a smooth, creamy texture. (After Don watched me trying to put it all in the food processor, seeing that it wasn’t going to fit, and asked why I wasn’t using the hand blender. sigh. At least he was there to catch me before I made too much of a mess.)

IMG_8172

We dusted our bowls with a little cayenne for a little pizzazz.

IMG_8176

I liked it. I think it was fun for something different. It lacked meat and made the meal not feel rounded but it was filling so I figured it wasn’t so bad to go without meat for a meal. I think it was a little lacking for Don but he ate it and said it was good. And then went back to the kitchen for something more later. LOL

You can do almost anything with soup stock, it’s like a strong foundation. When you have the right foundation, everything tastes good. 
~ Martin Yan 

2 comments

What do you think?

