Movie Monday – Lawless, A Little Bit Zombie

We’ve watched a lot in the past couple of weeks. I was crazy sick for about a week and Don had knee surgery recently so we’ve spent copious amounts of time in front of the television lately. But I’m going to stretch out the reviews so I don’t write a ridiculously overloaded post in one day. So without further adieu…

I really enjoyed Lawless. It is a little slow, too slow for Don’s taste really, but it still had me gasping and cringing at moments. It’s gritty and different. The story is set in the Depression and centers around a family of bootleggers and the ups and downs that come with such a lifestyle. I think the historical flavor to the story is what captured my interest most. It’s not the best movie I’ve ever seen but worth watching in my opinion.

A Little Bit Zombie was something Don was already watching when I arrived home from work one day so I missed maybe the first 20 minutes or so. Definitely not something I would pick offhand but it wasn’t all that bad. It was funny, not in a laugh out loud kind of way but funny all the same. It’s not to be taken seriously much like Scary Movie type films and it’s actually kind of clever at times. If you like dumb goofy comedy (and zombies) then check this one out. You might like it.

Jack, look at me. We’re survivors. We control the fear. And without the fear, we are all as good as dead. Do you understand?
~ Forrest Bondurant, Lawless, 2012

What do you think?

