A Late Movie Monday – Hotel Transylvania, Seven Psychopaths

I have this ready to go for days, I can’t believe I forgot to post it yesterday! I’m not working this week – it’s Mardi Gras week in Louisiana – and when I’m not working, I lose track of what day of the week it is. LOL

Hotel Transylvania was a lot of fun. I didn’t know that the underlying plot of the ‘monster hotel’ was a story of an overprotective father having to learn to let go of his growing daughter. Not really a story line that resonates with us but it was still fun. The screen was alive with a multitude of characters and a constant busy energy, like you might expect at a huge gathering of family and friends, and you just get carried away with it all. Is it silly? Sure. Is it fun? Heck yeah. I especially enjoyed all the little nuggets of humor poking at various monster lore in popular culture.

I would not recommend Seven Psychopaths. I have no idea why it has such a high rating on IMBb. It was slow and just not all that great. Good cast. Quirky, weird story about a struggling screenwriter and a bunch of other random people. But it just plodded and wasn’t engaging enough. I was really disappointed because I had been looking forward to seeing it.

I do not say blah, blah, blah! Where do you people get this from?
~ Dracula, Hotel Transylvania

What do you think?

