It’s Good to Be Home

We’ve been away for a week-long vacation in New Braunfels, Texas, visiting nearby family and just getting away from the usual routine. We had a GOOD time. Lots of laughs, good food and wine, tons of relaxation, and nice weather…with the exception of one creepy night of howling wind that set my imagination on fire. Even though it’s good to be home, leaving this morning to head home was hard. But we ripped that band-aid quick and I didn’t have time to get choked up. It’s so hard to say goodbye to people we only see once, sometimes twice a year. I’m so thankful for the time we spent with everyone and all the good times we had. For once, I don’t have any pictures because I was busy just enjoying all the great company, Scrabble games, and trips to the hot tub. (Therapeutic for Don’s knee of course.) 🙂

Now it’s back to life as usual. I’m still unpacking, doing laundry, cleaning overfull cat boxes and reassuring the boys that we are in fact not leaving them forever. I look forward to my own bed tonight. It’s nice to be in our own space again.

Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened.
~ Dr. Seuss

3 comments

    1. LOL I’m not. (Washington State, north of Seattle.) My mother-in-law is from Texas. So my husband has a lot of extended family there and my MIL visits (from Washington State) at least once a year. We coordinated with one of her trips and were able to stay a week in one of our timeshares with his parents, and then lots of aunts, uncles, and cousins visited from the nearby areas. 🙂 It was good times.

      Like

What do you think?

