Nutty Noodle Salad

If you like spaghetti squash, here’s a new dish you might not have tried before, courtesy of Cat at Things My Belly Likes. I could not come up with a new name, so forgive me Cat for naming my post Nutty Noodle Salad as well.

Ingredients

  • 1 small spaghetti squash
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp chives, finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup almonds, sliced

Dressing

  • 1 tbsp sunflower seed butter
  • 1 tbsp minced garlic
  • 3 tsps sesame oil
  • 1 tsp raw honey
  • 1 tsp balsamic vinegar
  • 2 tsps lemon juice

This was the first time that I roasted a spaghetti squash in the oven rather than microwaving it. It takes longer, but we really like how it came out. The flavor is slightly different, it’s not watery like when microwaved, and the texture even seemed slightly different. Thumbs up for roasting. I think we’ll take the extra time, when possible, to roast from now on.

I roasted the squash for 60 minutes at 375 and then let it sit for about 15-20 minutes to cool.

IMG_8201

Cut in half, brush with olive oil, and place face down on a baking dish.
We like to use parchment paper over a cookie sheet.

IMG_8202

Once cooled, turn over, remove the seeds, and then use a fork to remove the squash.
It comes out easily.

IMG_8203

While the squash cooked, I made the dressing by combining the sunflower seed butter, garlic, sesame oil, honey, balsamic vinegar, and lemon juice.

IMG_8193

Then I chopped by chives.

IMG_8199

And prepped the almonds. When the squash came out of the oven, I set the oven to broil and toasted the almonds for about 5-8 minutes, checking them frequently so they didn’t burn.

IMG_8196

While the almonds toasted, I added the dressing and chives to the squash.

IMG_8204

We had a quick taste, topped with almonds. Then placed the rest in the fridge to chill. We did like it better chilled the next day.

IMG_8206

This was a success for us. The only thing we might change next time is to try a little less sesame oil. The sesame flavor was just a little too strong for us. But overall, we enjoyed it and the leftovers certainly didn’t go to waste. Thanks again Cat for another great recipe!

You can’t just eat good food. You’ve got to talk about it too. And you’ve got to talk about it to somebody who understands that kind of food.
~ Kurt Vonnegut

4 comments

  1. Ooh, that looks like a good one. I always roast my sketti squash for the reasons you gave. I tried the microwave once, but didn’t like it much. I bet the inlaws would like this one too.

    Like

    1. We talked with them about how much better roasting is during the past week. I think they might try it next time they make one. B Don was especially interested in it not being watery like when microwaved.

      Like

What do you think?

