Another Green Smoothie – Apple, Avocado, and Spinach

For those of you interested in Green Smoothies, I have tried another combination, courtesy of Martha Stewart’s Green Machine Smoothie recipe.

Ingredients

  • 1 Granny Smith apple
  • 1/2 avocado
  • a handful of ice
  • 1 cup coconut water
  • big handful of spinach
IMG_8274

The ice, apple, and avocado.

IMG_8276

Coconut water and spinach added.

IMG_8277

Blended.

IMG_8280

Easy peasy!

I made a little more than I needed for myself but this was lunch so no biggie. Maybe a little less ice and water next time to reduce the serving for one. I think a little lime would be fun next time too.

I’ve also made this Strawberry-Pineapple Green Smoothie recently. LOVE IT! I used coconut water instead of plain old water and I added a tbsp of flax seed as well. I am a HUGE fan of strawberries so this will be a favorite of mine I’m sure. Don is still more partial to the peanut butter banana blend. To each his own.

Green strongly influences the heart and helps alleviate tension. Positive qualities associated with green are generosity, humility, and cooperation. Foods of the green vibration are all green fruits and green vegetables.
~ Tae Yun Kim, The First Element: Secrets to Maximizing Your Energy

3 comments

What do you think?

