Movie Monday – God Bless America, Iron Sky, Archer

This weekend we enjoyed the movies God Bless America and Iron Sky. Both suggestions from Netflix based on our viewing history. I have to say, good job Netflix.

God Bless America is an independent film by Bobcat Goldthwait. It is a dark comedy about a middle-aged man and a teenager who team up over their combined disgust with modern culture and the loss of civility in society. The sentiment of the movie is captured in this rant by Frank early in the film, “It’s the same kind of freak show distraction that comes along every time a mighty empire starts collapsing. American Superstarz (spoof of American Idol) is the new Coliseum, and I don’t want to participate in a show where the weak are torn apart every week for our entertainment. I’m done now. Everything is so cruel, I just want it all to stop … Why bother having a civilization anymore if we no longer are interested in being civilized.”  The plot may be a little thin at time but the satire still hits home.

Iron Sky is a science fiction comedy based on the premise that in the last moments of World War II, Nazis escaped to the Dark Side of the Moon via a secret space program. Since then, they have been building a space-faring army, preparing to return and conquer Earth in 2018. I really thought this was going to be a cheesy, over-the-top, B-rated film. But it’s better than that. The effects are well done, the acting is above what I expected, and the story is intriguing if you are open to the science fiction genre. They could have pushed the envelope more in the realm of the politically incorrect humor, given the subject nature, and it might have given it more of an edge, but we still enjoyed it as is.

And the best for last…

Holy s**t snacks I LOVE Archer! If you enjoy the comedy of Arrested Development, South Park, American Dad, Family Guy, or anything similarly politically incorrect with fast and quick wit, then you MUST check out Archer. It is seriously funny. Since I am completely at a loss for describing this show in my own words, here’s the official description from FXan animated, half-hour comedy that revolves around the International Secret Intelligence Service (ISIS) and the lives of its employees. Although their work of espionage, reconnaissance missions, wiretapping and undercover surveillance is daunting and dangerous, every covert operation and global crisis is actually just another excuse for the ISIS staff to undermine, sabotage and betray each other for personal gain.

We started watching via Netflix about four weeks ago and we burned through Seasons 1 and 2 already. I’m eagerly waiting for the release of Season 3 to Netflix. Season 4 started last month and it airs on FX, Thursday nights at 9 pm Central Time.

Because I can’t help myself, I’ve included a few quotes from the show just to give you a sneak peek.

Pam: Holy s**t snacks!

Lana: [opens cooler of nothing but beer in the middle of the Louisiana Swamp] You’re s**tting me.
Archer: I know. A rainbow should shoot out every time you open it.

Pam: Can you explain compounding interest to Cheryl?
Cyril: Maybe if we had an infinite amount of time and she was someone else.

Archer: Pam, wait up! Get me drunk enough and I might have sex with you.
Pam: Really?
Archer: No. It’s a catch-22. The amount of alcohol I would need would literally kill me. But I do want to see how many pool balls you can stick in your mouth.

Archer: I’m not saying I invented the turtleneck. But I was the first person to realize its potential as a tactical garment. The tactical turtleneck! The… tactleneck!

Archer: What the s**t, Lana? 

Archer: If I stop drinking all at once, I’m afraid the cumulative hangover will kill me.

Archer: I swear I had something for this.

What do you think?

