Movie Monday – Oblivion

Oblivion was…quite good and yet, something holds me back from saying that it was the epic experience that I’ve seen some claim. I’m not entirely sure how to describe my mixed feelings about it. It was quite good. Visually stunning. Solid cast. But it was also slow. It took so long for certain things to be explained, I felt frustrated by confusion and lack of understanding as the story plodded along. The word ‘plodded’ probably sounds mis-leading. There were plenty of fast-paced action sequences that kept things moving but the story itself seemed so slow. Yet, I think that’s what the makers were going for. It’s an intellectual story that kind of messes with your head, which is not something I find discouraging; I like thought-provoking stories. There was just something about the way things were presented in Oblivion that nagged me. But, all in all, it was entertaining, interesting, and beautiful imagery. So, while I might sound less than enthused about recommending it, don’t let that discourage you. If you like sci-fi, action, or Tom Cruise, Oblivion will likely be an enjoyable experience.

If one is lucky, a solitary fantasy can totally transform one million realities.
~ Maya Angelou

What do you think?

