Tomato and Cilantro Turkey Soup

I must thank Cat at Things My Belly Likes for the inspiration on this. Her Turkey and Cilantro Chili looked delightful and gave me a great starting point for making this flavor packed soup.

Ingredients: (Serves 4)

  • 12 oz ground turkey
  • 1/2 sweet onion
  • 1/2 red bell pepper
  • 1 tbsp chili garlic paste
  • 8 oz tomato paste
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • 1 can of pinto beans
  • 1 cup of garden fresh pico (or your favorite salsa would do)
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 2 tsp paprika

I browned the turkey with a little olive oil, adding the onions after 5 minutes to cook them down a bit too.

IMG_8586

In another pot I combined the chicken broth, tomato paste, beans, pico, cumin, and paprika.

IMG_8588

When the turkey was sufficiently cooked, I added everything from the first pan into the soup (yes, all the little bits and the juice too.) I added roughly chopped red bell pepper once the soup was boiling. I covered the pot and let it simmer at medium low heat for 30-40 minutes.

IMG_8591

I served it with a little fresh cilantro from our own stash we are growing now.

IMG_8595

Delish! I actually ate it with corn chips and a dollop of sour cream that I added after the photo. YUM.

This was super easy to make folks so don’t be intimidated! Give it a try. Great for a cold, blustery day. It was beautiful and sunny the day I made it but I wanted to try it so bad, I went for it anyway. 🙂

The secret of good cooking is, first, having a love of it… If you’re convinced that cooking is drudgery, you’re never going to be good at it, and you might as well warm up something frozen.
― James Beard

What do you think?

