Cucumber Relish Sweetened with Honey (not processed sugar)

In looking for ways to can our own homemade relish, sweetened with honey rather than processed sugar, I came across this post. My thanks to the author for sharing it and mentioning its original source, Putting it Up with Honey, which I’ve ordered but not received quite yet. (Excited to get it though!)

Not only was this our first experience making relish at home, but it was also our very first canning experience. Relish is canned simply by water bath, not pressured canning, but still, it was a big day for us since we’d never done any canning before.

First, here’s the recipe and the down and dirty details.

Ingredients – makes 6 pints

  • 4 cups cucumbers (I actually had about 5 cups)
  • 1 cup green pepper (I had just a bit more than 1 cup)
  • 1/2 cup red pepper
  • 3 cups onion
  • 3 cups celery
  • 1/4 cup salt
  • 1 3/4 cup raw honey (or 28-30 tbsp which was easier for me to measure by since the raw honey is firm and does not pour)
  • 2 cups white vinegar
  • 1 tbsp celery seed
  • 1 tbsp mustard seed
  • 1 tbsp ground coriander

Process: 

  1. Dice up all vegetables (with a food processor preferably to save yourself TONS of time.)
  2. Combine in a bowl, sprinkle salt over top, pour cold water to top of bowl, cover, and let sit for 5 hours.
  3. Drain relish and use spatula to press out excessive moisture.
  4. Sterilize jars.
  5. Combine honey, vinegar, and spices in a large pan and bring to a boil.
  6. Add relish and simmer for 10 minutes.
  7. Place into still warm sterilized jars, leave 1/2 inch room at top, wipe off rims, add lids, and finger-tighten the bands.
  8. Place jars in a boiling water bath (water level 1 inch or more above the top of the jars) for 10 minutes. Remove and set aside to cool.

Here we go!

IMG_8837

Of the veggies above, I used all everything except about 1/2 of the red bell pepper, 1 of the large (third from the right) cucumbers, and not quite all of the celery.

IMG_8838

The food processor was our best friend on this particular day. I’ve never used it quite so much before and I am so thankful we have one. From all the veggies for the relish to also making tomato sauce and chili on the same day, the processor got a workout. Above is a quick look at how easy it pulsed the cucumber for the relish. I was afraid the celery would be too stringy for the processor but happily I can report that it is not. The processor made fine work of the celery too.

IMG_8842

I actually had an extra can ready in case it made more than the indicated 6 pints but it all fit perfectly in 6 pint jars.

IMG_8843

A quick look at the relish after sitting for 5 hours before draining.

IMG_8846

I heated my honey slowly first to liquefy it a bit before adding the vinegar and spices.

IMG_8855

My relish drained while I sterilized my jars. Easy instructions on sterilizing here if you need them.

IMG_8857

It was a bit of an art timing the boiling of the liquid for the relish along with sterilizing my jars. But I worked it out.

IMG_8858

IMG_8860

And into the jars!

IMG_8861

IMG_8863

We bought a 16 quart pressure canner a few months ago (it’s about time we used it, lol.) It is the perfect size for water bath canning of pint-sized cans. I could probably fit 2 or 3 more in there if I needed to.

IMG_8866

After 10 minutes, I removed my jars and set them aside.

IMG_8867

Unopened these jars will last for 2 years (or so the books say) and opened they should last a couple of weeks in the fridge.

As for flavor…drum roll please…it’s fabulous! And all homegrown/organic and made at home.

Awesome.

Every moment is an experience.
~ Jake Roberts 

What do you think?

