Canning Meat Sauce

We had a cooking spree this past weekend. (If you hadn’t guessed that from yesterday’s post.) One of Don’s projects while I made the relish was to use up some of these beautiful tomatoes we harvested from Phyllis’s garden.

IMG_8830

I used about half to make a giant jar of pico and left him the second half for tomato sauce.

Partway through he decided to add meat to the mix. I don’t have any details on recipe; I was busy making relish. 🙂  I do know he used three meats – beef, rabbit, and a little venison sausage.

IMG_8865

It’s pretty hearty.

2013-06-08 17.20.16

As I wrapped up the canning of the relish, he decided he wanted to can the sauce as well. Oy vey. I was a little intimidated. The relish was our first-ever canning experience and it was just the water bath process. The meat in the sauce required pressure canning and we hadn’t ventured forth that far yet. I know, canning is chemistry not the time for creativity. I had no idea what he used in the recipe and he never measures. So, I was a bit of a basket case and resistant to his suggestion. However, he was insistent. So I ruthlessly scoured our canning bible, The Ball Blue Book Guide to Preserving, and various approved recipes for tomato sauce and meat sauce to compare against Don’s beautiful sauce. He is confident that we used enough vinegar and other sundry ingredients to properly can. We followed the instructions for canning meat since it requires longer processing than plain sauce and the rule for mixed recipes is to process for the longer duration of your mixed ingredients. Per our Blue Book instructions we processed the jars for 1 hour at 10 pounds of pressure.

IMG_8869

We only had 6 pint-sized jars left unused so I quickly sterilized them and we got moving on the canning. It was much less scary than I thought it would be.

We still had two more large servings of sauce left after the 6 jars were full. We put it in the freezer as we had initially planned. I think in the end, it was a good choice all around to freeze some and can some. This was by far the largest batch of sauce we’d made and I didn’t realize how much space it would have taken to freeze it all.

IMG_8871

Our second bathroom closet is quickly becoming a full-fledged pantry. 🙂

Be brave. Take risks. Nothing can substitute experience.
~ Paulo Coelho

One comment

What do you think?

