Movie Monday – Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters, Cloud Atlas

Hansel & Gretel was a bit of a letdown. It was different which I appreciate but it just didn’t pack the right punch. The effects and makeup were impressive but the witches flying on brooms was hokey, which I think was intentional but didn’t come off, for me, in a way that worked.  There was a tongue-in-cheek feel to the film, a lot of humor in the dialogue, and over-the-top gore which all together made it clear that the film wasn’t made to be taken seriously. Yet, somehow it just didn’t work for me. The language didn’t fit the scene either; not that I mind foul language, it just didn’t feel appropriate to the setting. I suppose if you have the mind-set going in that you’re about to watch something campy then perhaps you may be more receptive to the film than I was. Unfortunately, I wanted it to be a bit more “real”, as real as you can be when telling a story about witches and magic.

Cloud Atlas was an odd experience. I definitely think it’s worth watching and I’m glad I did. Although, from the reviews I’ve been reading, there are some very polar views out there and a lot of people who feel like they wasted close to three hours of their life watching Cloud Atlas. I guess you have to want to see it and see what the creators were trying to do. It’s weird and awkward at times. It’s also thought-provoking and interesting. There are 6 different story lines which are not presented in a linear fashion. I admit, it was messy and confusing at times but it didn’t put me off from watching. I enjoyed some characters and timelines more than others. All in all I thought it was interesting and I would recommend it to anyone interested in seeing something a little bit different. If you like your movies more straight-forward and action-packed, this might not be the film for you.

I would rather entertain and hope that people learned something than educate people and hope they were entertained.
~ Walt Disney 

2 comments

  1. Hey- I have a viewing suggestion for you. Have you seen “Warm Bodies?” Surprisingly entertaining- just don’t go in expecting anything except a good time.

    Like

What do you think?

