Peanut Butter Fudge sweetened with Honey

I’m really enjoying all the responses to my last post and hearing all the many ways folks are using coconut oil! Good luck to everyone in the giveaway!

Here’s my most recent creation using Tropical Tradition’s Gold Label Coconut Oil. This recipe actually comes from Tropical Tradition’s recipe blog. I did not alter the recipe, I may have added a slight bit more honey than 2 tbsp since it’s so hard to measure honey and cocoa powder is a little bitter for my taste; I wanted to get to enjoy this recipe too! Those that know me, know I’m not a chocolate lover. Any chocolate treats I make are usually for Don. I am more of a vanilla cake, sugar cookie, anything strawberry sweets person. But fudge is one of the chocolate treats I do generally like and this recipe definitely appeals to both of us.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup peanut butter (or nut butter of your choice)
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 3 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • nuts or other extras optional – I added macadamia nuts and shredded coconut

IMG_9023

This was really quick and easy to make. Simply mix and freeze.

I put everything in the food processor and then lined two small square containers with natural parchment paper and folded/pressed the mix into the containers.

IMG_9029

If you’ve never worked with cocoa powder before, be careful! It’s so fine it can make a mess easily. One little bump and you’ve got fine chocolate powder everywhere. (Speaking from experience, lol.)

IMG_9032

It was a little tricky, sticky to get the mix to settle in the containers but I persevered. Since I didn’t want to add nuts to the entire mix I folded the nuts into the mixture in the smaller container. Then in the second container I put the plain mix and sprinkled coconut flakes on one side so I’d have a few pieces of plain and a few with coconut flakes.

IMG_9035

I placed the containers in the freezer to firm up (30-60 min.) They were easy to cut into bite sized pieces when I took mine out after about an hour.

IMG_9036

Store it all in the freezer to keep it firm. It softens quickly when not frozen.

IMG_9039

Verdict: Delish! Next time Don needs a chocolate fix I have a quick easy way to satisfy that craving. Yay! 🙂

We are planning to try the fried green tomatoes recipe, also from TT’s recipe blog, in the near future too. Stay tuned; I’ll post the results when we do!

Strength is the capacity to break a chocolate bar into four pieces with your bare hands – and then eat just one of the pieces.
~ Judith Viorst

Disclosure: If you order any Tropical Traditions products by clicking on any of my links and have never ordered from TT in the past, you will receive a free book on Virgin Coconut Oil, and I will receive a discount coupon for referring you.

2 comments

What do you think?

