Safety Razors and the Old School Shaving Method

As we venture down the rabbit hole further, discovering ways to eliminate harsh chemicals and synthetic products, we have embraced safety razors or what some of you may already know as “old school” shaving.

IMG_8602

Apparently there’s a whole movement or following of the old school method, we just weren’t informed. (I’m finding this to be a common theme in life lately; so many of us are uninformed about SO MUCH – GMO’s, factory farming, vaccines to a name a few topics.) Insight came when I happened to casually mention to my sister-in-law that I was digging around online looking for a natural shaving cream or product for Don. His shave cream was one of the last chemical-laden products we still had it in the house and it weighed on my mind every day. Lo and behold, turns out my brother-in-law had started using a safety razor in the recent past and with this new buzz word to look up, I was off and running, finding a slew of information about shaving – traditional shaving, classic shaving, wet shaving, old school shaving, double edge safety razors, straight razors. Holy Hannah. Information overload.

After many youtube videos on shaver reviews and the various methods, as well as reading many reviews on shavers, and much discussion between the two of us, we finally settled on our razors. Don uses the Parker 65R and I use the Parker 60R. They came with a few Shark blades. We ordered additional Feather blades on my brother-in-law’s recommendation. I have used both blades and I do like the Feather blades better. I’m not sure I could tell you why, they just seem to cut smoother. I keep my shaver in the shower and use it as I have any other shaver, for all parts of me that need shaving. Don keeps his on the bathroom counter with his various accessories as pictured above.

We’ve been using our new shavers for a little over a month now and we are both happy campers with the change. I did feel like I was learning to shave all over again. I was nervous about the sharpness of the blade so my first few times I was tentative until I got the hang of it. Now that I’m comfortable, it is not so different from disposable/cartridge razors, in handling. Much different in quality of shave. I believe we would both tell you we get a much closer shave that lasts longer with the safety razor. Rather than go on about the differences between safety razors and cartridge (or disposable) razors, I defer to this well written post that breaks it down into pros and cons of both. It’s not long. If you’re interested in learning more about these razors, definitely take a second to pop over and scan this quick read.

One of the benefits that appeals to us is the fact that the blades are steel and can be recycled, not to mention are lot less expensive than cartridges. The razor will cost a little more initially (we only spent $30 on ours) but in the long term, the lower cost of the blades and the much longer life of the razor means less money from our pockets and less garbage in landfills. That’s a win-win for me. (Be sure to check with your local recycling company about acceptable ways to recycle razor blades.)

Don had to learn how to lather using a brush and bowl but it’s pretty simple. A couple of youtube videos were really all he needed to get the general idea. I bought his soaps from Seattle Sundries. He likes the Filthy Rich scent the best but we bought a sampler kit which came with all three wet shave soaps and they are all very pleasant.

As for me, I simply shave in the shower like I used to, using shower soap to lather. We have a couple of shower soaps but the Dr. Bronner’s Magic Pure Castille Liquid Soaps have been the best for shaving.

Also important, but not pictured (my bad), is an alum block. It’s a simple little tool, a natural astringent that closes nicks if needed. I bought it for myself, afraid of cutting myself early on. Thankfully, I haven’t had much trouble in that regard but every once in a while you do nick yourself, I even did it with cartridge razors. This little block, if rubbed over a wet, freshly shaved area, will act like an alcohol-based aftershave and sting a bit on the nicked area but it also closes up the skin and helps stop the bleeding. A couple seconds of sting has been well worth the purchase. I gave it to Don one day to try when I saw that he nicked his face and while he looked at me skeptically, he was surprised and pleased with the results. Now the block stays on the counter instead of the shower so he can use it too. I can always use it when I get out before toweling off, or get another for the shower. Neither one of us uses it much, but it’s nice to have it when you need it.

So, to sum up, I recommend safety razors and the old-school shaving method – for men and women. 🙂

When people are ready to, they change. They never do it before then, and sometimes they die before they get around to it. You can’t make them change if they don’t want to, just like when they do want to, you can’t stop them.
~ Andy Warhol

One comment

What do you think?

