Reading Corner – Nefertiti

nefertitiNefertiti was outstanding. I could hardly put it down. It’s been a while since I’ve read any historical fiction and this book reminds me why I love it so much. As much as I love fantasy as well, this was a refreshing change of pace. I didn’t know anything about the history of Nefertiti or this particular period of ancient Egypt. I had added this book to my “want to read” list because I read Moran’s novel Cleopatra’s Daughter last July and enjoyed it immensely too. Moran definitely didn’t disappoint in Nefertiti, which was actually her debut novel. Well done, I must say. The story of Nefertiti, her husband Akhenaten (or Amenhotep IV), and the rise and fall of their rule is told from the perspective of Nefertiti’s younger sister. It’s a fascinating and captivating story. I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys historical fiction. I look forward to reading Moran’s follow-up novel, The Heretic Queen.

Be awesome! Be a book nut!
~ Dr. Seuss

What do you think?

