Reading Corner – The Heretic Queen

hereticqueenI couldn’t help myself. I went right from Nefertiti to The Heretic Queen. It was a little difficult and jarring to do so. I actually wouldn’t recommend it. I think they would do more justice to each other to read them as separate novels with a little space between. I had a hard time, initially, accepting the voice and character of the lead, Nefertari, last surviving heir of Nefertiti’s royal family. Nefertari is forever marked by her family’s heretical views that have been banished and cursed, leaving her lost in a world that might never accept her. But with a little support from the right people at court, and a little scheming, and a love interest, she overcomes the ugliness in her family’s past and shows the people that she is not cut from the same cloth. By the end I was rooting for Nefertari and I did enjoy the story. Between the two, I liked Nefertiti better in many ways, but they are equally well-written, rich in historical detail and wonderfully enjoyable stories of a time long past.

I can feel infinitely alive curled up on the sofa reading a book.
~ Benedict Cumberbatch

What do you think?

