My First Fried Green Tomatoes

It may come as a surprise to some (but not to most who really know me) that I’ve never had fried green tomatoes before. I thought it was high time to try them. This recipe comes from the Tropical Traditions Coconut Recipe Blog.

IMG_9057

Straight from our own tomato plants!

You don’t need much for this simple finger food.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon paprika (we meant to add cayenne too but forgot; I think it would be a good addition)
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 large (or 2 small) green tomatoes cut into slices

Dredge through egg wash, coat with flour and spice mix, and fry. Easy. Peasy.

IMG_9061

IMG_9075

IMG_9098

IMG_9100

IMG_9107

Damn, that was a good dinner. Seafood balls, coleslaw (cabbage!) with our own homemade dressing, and fried green tomatoes. Mmm…

I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand.
~ Confucius 

2 comments

What do you think?

