Baked Butternut Lasagna of sorts

Don designed this creative masterpiece. I was suspect when he told me what he was thinking of doing. One of these days you’d think I’d just trust his instincts. The man knows flavors and he knows his way around the kitchen.

Ingredients

Method

  1. Wipe the inside of your dish with coconut oil.
  2. Use a food processor to shred your butternut squash and place in the bottom of the dish.
  3. Add a layer of parmesan cheese.
  4. Add a layer of sauce.
  5. Top with a layer of mozzarella cheese.
  6. Bake at 325 for about 45 minutes or until your cheese is brown and bubbly.

Don made mini lasagnas in a sense, using medium-sized ramekins that are 4.5 inches in diameter or 500 ml. They really were perfectly sized for individual servings.

IMG_9131

Parmesan layer.

IMG_9133

Ready to bake!

IMG_9135

Beautiful.

IMG_9139

Booyah!

I was so uncertain about pairing butternut with tomato/spaghetti flavors. I thought for sure it would clash. Boy, was I ever wrong. This. Was. Mind-Blowing. Granted, a lot of the flavor comes from the homemade meat sauce but the combination of the butternut, cheese, and sauce was simply genius. Highly recommended for those of you looking for ways to make Italian dishes without the pasta.

When you cut that eggplant up and you roast it in the oven and you make the tomato sauce and you put it on top, your soul is in that food, and there’s something about that that can never be made by a company that has three million employees.
~ Mario Batali 

2 comments

  1. That looks delicious! Most of the squash lasagna recipes I’ve seen in the past have been super labor intensive because they have you cut the squash into lasagna noodle-esque shapes, which I could never bring myself to do. In my laziness I would usually just make some meat sauce, bake a squash, and take bites of each. I like your shredding idea much better!

    Like

What do you think?

