Almond Coconut Snack Bars

These snacks bars from The Paleo Mom are the bomb. I can’t remember if this recipe for Almond Coconut Bars popped up on my facebook newsfeed somewhere or if I was already following the blog. Regardless, I saw it, and I instantly thought = sweet treat for Don. Surprisingly, they don’t taste like a dessert item like I thought they might. They strike me more like a granola bar. And a small piece goes a long way. I’ve been enjoying them as mid-day snacks for days now. I made two slight changes to accommodate my supplies on hand – sunflower butter in the place of almond butter and maple syrup instead of molasses.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup shredded unsweetened coconut
  • 2 cups raw almonds
  • 1/2 cup sunflower butter
  • 2/3 cup coconut oil
  • 1 tbsp coconut flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 tbsp vanilla
  • 3 oz 85% dark chocolate

Process

  1. Melt coconut oil over low heat in a small saucepan.
  2. Line a square dish with parchment or wax paper.
  3. Pulse almonds in food processor to a medium-fine texture.
  4. Add the rest of the ingredients EXCEPT the chocolate to the food processor and pulse. Mix a bit by hand to ensure full incorporation.
  5. Pour into dish and smooth out to edges to fill the dish. Refrigerate until set – at least 1 hour.
  6. Melt chocolate over low heat in a double boiler. Pour over base and spread until evenly coated. Place back into refrigerator for approximately 5 minutes (I completely SPACED this step!) until chocolate is solid but still a little soft – for ease of cutting. (Yep. You definitely should heed that part.)
  7. Cut into bars and store in a plastic container, in the fridge if you want them to be firm. I kept mine on the counter. My fridge was too cold and they were too hard for my taste.

Here’s a look at the method to my madness. 🙂

IMG_9148

Coconut flour and salt on left; shredded coconut center; sunflower butter on right.

IMG_9140

Coconut oil melting.

IMG_9144

Almonds. About to be pulverized.

IMG_9152

See all the large chunks? I think I should have let it go longer.
My bars flaked and broke apart easily and I think it was mostly due to the large chunks.

IMG_9153

Here I’ve added the coconut flakes and other sundry ingredients. Only the coconut oil is missing.

IMG_9154

Here the coconut oil has been added. (This is SUPER easy to make BTW.)

IMG_9157

My pan is 8×8 so I believe my bars are thicker than Paleo Mom’s 9×9 pan. And into the fridge!

IMG_9158

After letting the base firm up, I used my make-shift double broiler to melt my chocolate.
(It’s just a mixing bowl that fits nicely over a small saucepan.)

IMG_9160

Here’s a look after the base is firm.

IMG_9162

Now, topped with chocolate!

IMG_9170

Here’s where I went all wrong. I missed the tip to only let it set for 5 minutes. I put it back in the fridge and went about other projects. It might have been there for another hour. Oops!
So…cutting it was a challenge.

IMG_9175

See that piece in the upper left? All jagged and crumbly? Yeah. I was getting a lot of that.
I managed to salvage most of it by turning it over and cutting from the softer side first.
After enjoying a few, in the end we cut them in half again from what you see pictured.
They are quite filling and hold me over well between meals, especially during the workday.

IMG_9178

Gratuitous last shot. 🙂

People who love to eat are always the best people.
~ Julia Child

What do you think?

